Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

In 2019, the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot was launched to bring skilled workers to those areas in order to stimulate economic growth. Communities in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, Nunavut, the Northwest Territories, and Yukon participate in this program. Canada encourages people with skills, education, and work experience to apply for permanent residence.

The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot is a community-based program. Smaller communities are expected to reap the benefits of economic immigration by creating a path to permanent residence for skilled foreign workers who want to live and work in one of the participating communities.

Who may use this application?

If you meet the eligibility requirements and plan to settle permanently in one of the following communities, you can apply for the Northern and Rural Immigration Pilot Program:

  • North Bay, ON
  • Sudbury, ON
  • Timmins, ON
  • Sault Ste. Marie, ON
  • Thunder Bay, ON
  • Brandon, MB
  • Altona/Rhineland, MB
  • Moose Jaw, SK
  • Claresholm, AB
  • Vernon, BC
  • West Kootenay (Trail, Castlegar, Rossland, Nelson), BC
  • To be eligible for this program, you must meet the minimum requirements outlined below.